Warning: Declaration of gtw::widget($args) should be compatible with WP_Widget::widget($args, $instance) in /homepages/2/d517043430/htdocs/clickandbuilds/WordPress/MyCMS/wp-content/plugins/gtw/gtw.php on line 56
Disability-Smart Awards Ceremony 2018 | Harrow & Brent United Deaf Club
was successfully added to your cart.

Disability-Smart Awards Ceremony 2018

Posted by | November 29, 2018 | News | No Comments
Asif Iqbal, President of Harrow and Brent United Deaf Club honoured to be invited to attend Disability-Smart Awards Ceremony 2018, a prestigious event organised by Disability Employment Forum and supported by Barclays, which took place at the Foreign Commonwealth Office on Thursday 29th November 2018.
Disability Smart Award 1
The event was well attended with representatives from the private and public sectors including local authorities. I was pleased to meet Diana Footlight, Chief Executive of Disability Employment Forum. 
About the Awards:
The  Disability Smart Awards recognise and celebrate businesses who have demonstrated outstanding and innovative practice. Hear about businesses large and small and across all sectors who have helped transform the lives of disabled people in the workplace and in society. This ceremony in the stunning suites where the Locarno Treaties of 1925 were signed will be a celebration of disability confidence. The event was hosted by GB Paralympian Stef Reid and Business Disability Forum CEO Diane Lightfoot.
” Companies including Microsoft, Facebook, Sainsbury’s and KPMG are all in the running for awards, which recognise organisations who have shown an outstanding commitment to employing, working with and doing business with disabled people. “
Previous winners of Disability Smart Awards have included:
Lloyds Banking Group, Sainsbury’s, Barclays, HMRC, Atos, BT, Brent Council, EY, Shell, Money Advice Service, Brunel University, CGI, Cisco, Fujitsu, Victim Support, Equal Approach, Remploy and Uber.
Finalists & result of the winners revealed below:
  • Disabled people’s choice award: Liverpool FC; Crunch Simply Digital; Brunswick Park Primary School; London Borough of Hounslow.
    Winner:  Liverpool FC
  • Senior disability champion of the year: Tim Fallowfield, Sainsbury’s; Sir Philip Rutnam, Civil Service.
    Winner: Sir Philip Rutnam of Civil Service.
  • Inclusive service provider of the year: 24/7 Recruitment; Gatwick Airport; BT.
    Winner: Gatwick Airport
  • Positive cultural change of the year: Guidant; West Midlands Police; EY.
    Winner:  West Midlands Police
  • Workplace adjustments innovation of the year (sponsored by Microlink): Sainsbury’s; Financial Conduct Authority; Shell
    Winner:  Financial Conduct Authority
  • Influential business of the year: Virgin Media; KPMG.
    Winner: KPMG
  • Technology initiative of the year (sponsored by Microlink): Facebook; Microsoft; Neatebox.
These finalists were chosen from a large pool of entries by an independent panel of judges from across the disability, business and public sectors.
The judging panel includes:
  • Kamran Mallick, Chief Executive Officer, Disability-Rights UK
  • Mark Lomas, Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, High Speed Two (HS2)
  • Janet Hill, Programme Director, Civil Service Disability Inclusion, Cabinet Office
  • Geoff Adams-Spink, Director, Adams-Spink Ltd
  • David Brindle, Public Services Editor, The Guardian
  • Paulette Cohen, Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Barclays
It was so inspiring to hear positive stories of all finalists and their commitment in supporting disabled people in employment and raising awareness among employers about the needs of the disabled workforce. Those employers demonstrated positive attitudes and supporting staff with disability to progress well into their career, breaking the glass ceiling that if they can do it, we can do it too, thus providing a platform for employers to share good practices and for disabled staff to be positive role models for others.